Beat: Sports

DA COSTA WINS THE ARGENTINIAN E PRIX IN BUENOS AIRES

ANTONIO FELIX da COSTA CLINCHES VICTORY

Buenos Aires, Argentina, 12.01.2015, 17:16 Time

USPA NEWS - Antonio Felix da Costa clinches victory in an action-packed Buenos Aires ePrix in front of e.dams-Renault's Nicolas Prost and China Racing's Nelson Piquet Jr. The Amlin Aguri driver kept clear of trouble and slowly made his way into the lead.

Both polesitter Sebastien Buemi and championship leader Lucas di Grassi retired with suspension failures at the fast Turn 8 and 9 chicane.

Venturi's Nick Heidfeld looked favourite to win in the closing stages but a drive-through penalty for speeding in the pitlane scuppered his chances.

Da Costa, who missed the opening round in Beijing, progressed up the field from eighth on the grid to collect the full 25 points.Prost managed to steer clear of the battle between Daniel Abt and Jaime Alguersuari in the closing stages, an over-optimistic move by the Audi Sport ABT driver sent the Spaniard into a spin. Abt was out on the spot, but Alguersuari managed to limp his car home in fourth.

Piquet picked up his second consecutive podium despite being held behind the red light and losing a lap in the pitlane during the safety car period.

The Qualcomm Safety Car was deployed after Mahindra Racing's Karun Chandhok also fell victim to broken rear suspension at the Turn 8 and 9 chicane. Piquet wasn't the only driver to be effected by the confusion as a number of drivers had to pass the safety car to unlap themselves.

Virgin Racing's Sam Bird was part of the lead group but he picked up a drive-through penalty for ignoring the pit exit lights.

Bruno Senna, who was one of the FanBoost winners, finished fifth ahead of a feisty Jean-Eric Vergne who damaged his nosecone in the fight for the final podium spot.

Before the race all the drivers, teams and the Formula E Championship together with the City of Buenos Aires, Argentinean authorities and the FIA President Jean Todt gathered on the grid for a minute silence to pay respect to the victims of the dramatic terrorist attack which happened in Paris earlier this week.

1. Antonio Felix da Costa, Amlin Aguri, 48:52.100

- 2. Nicolas Prost, e.dams-Renault, +5.354s
- 3. Nelson Piquet Jr, China Racing, +8.552s
- 4. Jaime Alguersuari, Virgin Racing, +11.148s
- 5. Bruno Senna, Mahindra Racing, +11.535s
- 6. Jean-Eric Vergne, Andretti, +11.535s
- 7. Sam Bird, Virgin Racing, +13.617s
- 8. Salvador Duran, Amlin Aguri, +14.724s
- 9. Nick Heidfeld, Venturi, +15.464s
- 10. Oriol Servia, Dragon Racing, +19.334s

Article online:

https://www.uspa24.com/bericht-3191/da-costa-wins-the-argentinian-e-prix-in-buenos-aires.html

Editorial office and responsibility:

V.i.S.d.P. & Sect. 6 MDStV (German Interstate Media Services Agreement): David Franciamore

Exemption from liability:

The publisher shall assume no liability for the accuracy or completeness of the published report and is merely providing space for the submission of and access to third-party content. Liability for the content of a report lies solely with the author of such report. David Franciamore

Editorial program service of General News Agency:

United Press Association, Inc. 3651 Lindell Road, Suite D168 Las Vegas, NV 89103, USA (702) 943.0321 Local (702) 943.0233 Facsimile info@unitedpressassociation.org info@gna24.com www.gna24.com